Bloom'n 3DGE?!?

Discuss anything EDGE-related that doesn't fall into the categories.
User avatar
3rd_3ye
Community Manager
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:58 am
Gender: None specified

Bloom'n 3DGE?!?

Postby 3rd_3ye » Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:31 am

So a lot of doomers on the Z side of the doom port family are all exited about the new QeffectsGL wrapper for open gl games. It turns out the wrapper works decently for EDGE as well. I'm still tinkering with the settings and there are bugs here and there, but it works for the most part. Beware of zoom while using this dll, as it causes a hall of mirrors-like issue.

Here's some pics:

This first ones from Hypertension. Note the view_model looks okay.


This next is from CQB. I don't know why the md2 models are blurry here but not in hyper. Only the v_weap is blurry, the enemy models/ pickups look fine.


This next one is from Doom2.5, note he lighting.


A nice evening sky for CQB:


A treat from Doomed Again:
The banlist has been updated successfully.

User avatar
Coraline
Site Admin
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:22 am
Gender: Female
Contact:

Re: Bloom'n 3DGE?!?

Postby Coraline » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

That's unreal! Mind posting some more pics from Hyper with Bloom added?

(crucifixed Neils in the second level, the temple level, etc.?)

CQB might use a weird image format that saved colors in the type that the wrapper detected as "bloomable". Obviously it can't access the GL stuff directly so it must take a guess. Hyper got lucky because we knew what we were doing ;)
\(סּںסּَ` )/ۜ

User avatar
3rd_3ye
Community Manager
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:58 am
Gender: None specified

Re: Bloom'n 3DGE?!?

Postby 3rd_3ye » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:03 pm

@corbin:
I thought about Neils. the fire sprites don't show any bloom until you are right up on them, it's the settings of course, the wrapper has to be fine tuned.
As you can see in this screen, the bloom effect doesn't occur on large fire sprites until player is quite close.



Here are the settings I'm using for now:

[Generic]
code:[hypertension.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
MultisampleHint=0
Bloom=8
BloomSteps=8
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=8
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=8.0
SSAOMinZ=0.005
SSAOMaxZ=1.0
Hue=-3
Saturation=20
Lightness=0
Emboss=1
EmbossScale=0.666
DOF=0
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=1.0

That's very different than the one Zdoomers are using. There's a lot of fine tunning to go through yet though.

Moar you say? Why of course ;)







The source for this wrapper is GPLv2, so if anyone wanted to integrate this with the source for KMQ2 or 3DGE, they legally could. Here's the file location:

The banlist has been updated successfully.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest