Question about slopes

Discuss anything EDGE-related that doesn't fall into the categories.
User avatar
Marscaleb
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:57 pm
Location: California or Utah
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Question about slopes

Postby Marscaleb » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:12 pm

I recently observed something and I was wondering if it was behaving the way I thought.

Are slopes in 3DGE using the same collision as if there was no slope at all? As if they were purely decorative?

If so, I feel disappointed. Walking up a slop feels like walking up stairs; it is not smooth at all.
I think zDoom has slopes with an actual sloped collision; I'm not 100% but I thought I've seen videos showing that.

I feel like I shouldn't be too upset though; it would be a particularly challenging thing to program; it would require making fundamental revisions to the game's collision system, and that sort of thing would guarantee all sorts of nasty bugs. But if the engine is going to support Quake 3 maps, it is something that will be needed at some point.

User avatar
3rd_3ye
Community Manager
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:58 am
Gender: None specified

Re: Question about slopes

Postby 3rd_3ye » Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:17 pm

In EDGE, slopes were decorative. 3dge has toyed with polyobjects, although the code was still alpha last I heard. Polyobjects offer one way to get solid slopes, I understand that there are other methods. The 3d portion of 3dge uses a different bsp. than regular 3dge uses, so it's a case of 2 separate engines in the same exec.
The banlist has been updated successfully.

User avatar
Marscaleb
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:57 pm
Location: California or Utah
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Re: Question about slopes

Postby Marscaleb » Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:14 pm

Okay then.
I'm not exactly surprised.
I'm putting "sloped sectors with sloping collision" on my 3DGE wishlist.

User avatar
Coraline
Site Admin
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:22 am
Gender: Female
Contact:

Re: Question about slopes

Postby Coraline » Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:42 pm

That's something we tried to fix with the current logic, but it was difficult.

We will eventually do this the right way with vertex-height calculation, but the slope code will need to be scrapped and redone, as they weren't programmed efficient enough to use for such a method "as-is", same with portals, mirrors, and other things (like cameras). It works amazingly with older hardware, but current technology can get us much faster speeds, and much more interesting renderer effects.
\(סּںסּَ` )/ۜ

User avatar
Coraline
Site Admin
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:22 am
Gender: Female
Contact:

Re: Question about slopes

Postby Coraline » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:55 pm

We are going to incorporate the 'ZatPoint' from ZDoom for proper slopes, maybe after UDMF :-)
\(סּںסּَ` )/ۜ

User avatar
ChillyWilly
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:25 pm
Gender: None specified

Re: Question about slopes

Postby ChillyWilly » Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:41 am

For the moment, I'm happy with vertex slopes. From the current version - standing on top of a small mound, looking at lower regions...

Not really dead, just pining for the fjords.

User avatar
3rd_3ye
Community Manager
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:58 am
Gender: None specified

Re: Question about slopes

Postby 3rd_3ye » Tue May 23, 2017 7:09 pm

As far as I can tell from the test wad, polyobject slopes, along with fog, now work in 3dge.
The banlist has been updated successfully.

User avatar
Marscaleb
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:57 pm
Location: California or Utah
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Re: Question about slopes

Postby Marscaleb » Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:06 am

Polyobject slopes?
That sounds like it would be VERY useful!


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest