DOS D00M OS?

Discuss anything EDGE-related that doesn't fall into the categories.
User avatar
3rd_3ye
Community Manager
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:58 am
Gender: None specified

DOS D00M OS?

Postby 3rd_3ye » Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:25 am

So, the original dos source code for doom had a rudementary operating system?

Did any of that make it into dos doom? or dare I say, EDGE?

Innnterestiing....
The banlist has been updated successfully.

User avatar
Coraline
Site Admin
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:22 am
Gender: Female
Contact:

Re: DOS D00M OS?

Postby Coraline » Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:31 am

Of course, just like how every DOOM port has a rudimentary OS. :)
\(סּںסּَ` )/ۜ

User avatar
3rd_3ye
Community Manager
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:58 am
Gender: None specified

Re: DOS D00M OS?

Postby 3rd_3ye » Wed Apr 29, 2015 2:13 pm

Not a guru when it comes to this stuff. If you're wondering where I read this;

From Jon:
[q] Older versions of doom actually start up with "Doom Operating System v1.2" and suchlike in the loading screen. I don't recall when they stopped but the string isn't in the linuxdoom source.[/q]

http://www.doomworld.com/vb/post/1366311


isn't in the linux source...
The banlist has been updated successfully.

User avatar
Coraline
Site Admin
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:22 am
Gender: Female
Contact:

Re: DOS D00M OS?

Postby Coraline » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:12 pm

Of course it's not, the Linux source was cleaned up and handled by someone completely different (lots of stuff, even DMX, was stripped completely). It was likely an acronym since DOOM required so much memory at the time. Doesn't really mean anything, just a string to make it sound fancy.
\(סּںסּَ` )/ۜ


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests