New ReadMe?

Remember it never hurts to ask, but you might not get it.

Moderators: andrewj, Corbin, Lobo

zZaRDoZz
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 1:15 am

New ReadMe?

Postby zZaRDoZz » Thu 10 Sep 2009 10:10 pm


User avatar
andrewj
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007 11:22 am
Location: Tasmania

Re: New ReadMe?

Postby andrewj » Fri 11 Sep 2009 1:28 am


zZaRDoZz
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 1:15 am

Postby zZaRDoZz » Fri 11 Sep 2009 10:54 pm

I've tried it with all the options on. I know the gforce 5200 is a sucky card even by low end standards but I think it should be able to outrun a voodoo 3. Is the a quick way to turn off the weather fx?

I'm starting to think this thread belongs in the help! section.

User avatar
Corbin
Posts: 657
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2007 6:10 am
Location: vice city, california
Contact:

Postby Corbin » Fri 11 Sep 2009 10:55 pm

Why don't you try running Qdoom with 1.31? And make sure you don't have anything hogging up memory - EDGE needs lots of overhead to run comfortably.

zZaRDoZz
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 1:15 am

Postby zZaRDoZz » Fri 11 Sep 2009 11:18 pm

I've tried it with the release candidate and version 1.28 which is recommended in qdoom's readme file. Results were the same. I'll see what happens with everything checked on in 1.28 and report back. I have well above the 128 minimum RAM recommendation but a recent swap page bug maybe playing a role in this little hiccup.

zZaRDoZz
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 1:15 am

Postby zZaRDoZz » Fri 11 Sep 2009 11:42 pm


zZaRDoZz
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 1:15 am

Postby zZaRDoZz » Sat 12 Sep 2009 12:20 am


User avatar
Tragos
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue 18 Mar 2008 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Tragos » Sat 12 Sep 2009 5:40 am

www.tragos2d.com
My personal website, blog and home of my ventures in the study of game design.

User avatar
Corbin
Posts: 657
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2007 6:10 am
Location: vice city, california
Contact:

Postby Corbin » Sat 12 Sep 2009 7:11 am


zZaRDoZz
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 1:15 am

Postby zZaRDoZz » Sun 13 Sep 2009 1:50 pm


User avatar
Tragos
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue 18 Mar 2008 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Tragos » Sun 13 Sep 2009 4:35 pm

Does the system run slow in safe mode? Everything that program does can be done manually. Leave your paging file the default size, instead setting a custom one which can have tragic consequences. Uninstalling that program and getting rid of all the registry entries it made would be in your best interest.

Try the following:

Go into admin tools, then services.
Right click and then disable the following.



Click performance tab.

Then





This should help. Try what I posted above. :)
Last edited by Tragos on Tue 15 Sep 2009 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
www.tragos2d.com

My personal website, blog and home of my ventures in the study of game design.

zZaRDoZz
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 1:15 am

Postby zZaRDoZz » Sun 13 Sep 2009 10:28 pm

Things are certainly smoother now. Thank you Tragos :)

User avatar
Tragos
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue 18 Mar 2008 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Tragos » Mon 14 Sep 2009 1:11 am

You are very welcome.

XP can easily hog up resources on older machines. XP honestly only needs 14 processes running (this requires some work) in order to function. I'd also max out your memory, if you can find some Crucial memory compatible with your system I'd go that route.

I've used Asus boards, Intel, and Nvidia hardware almost religiously over the years and have not had a single system quit yet! I actually have new in box 600mhz socket processors, and other numerous parts for when I have the space/need for a oldschool system again.

Defrag your system frequently. Also use this program to clean out junk.

http://www.ccleaner.com/
( Run the cleaner everytime you log off Firefox )

Internet
http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/upgrade.html
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/11073
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/433


Just a few more things that i think will help. :)
www.tragos2d.com

My personal website, blog and home of my ventures in the study of game design.

User avatar
Tragos
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue 18 Mar 2008 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Tragos » Tue 15 Sep 2009 7:04 am

Right click and disable this hardware in device manager.


This only applies if your using a modern printer. Almost every printer these days is USB, so powering up these ports is unnecessary unless you have a use for them.... Some modern boards don't even have these. This should speed up boot time slightly, and use less power.


Deleting files:
If you want to permanently delete a file, hold "shift" and the "delete" key. Be careful when you do this! This will bypass sending an item to the recycle bin, instead removing the entry from your hard drive. Clearing the item out of the recycle bin marks the sector for being "written over" instead..... Which wont actually delete the data until that sector is written over.

This deletion method also wont ask you twice! Gone means gone, forever! :twisted:
www.tragos2d.com

My personal website, blog and home of my ventures in the study of game design.


Return to “Feature Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests