EXE name change

Discuss anything EDGE-related that doesn't fall into the categories.

Moderators: andrewj, Corbin, Lobo

User avatar
andrewj
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007 11:22 am
Location: Tasmania

EXE name change

Postby andrewj » Sat 28 Jun 2008 5:13 am

I'm planning on changing the EXE name to edge32.exe, dropping the "gl" prefix.

User avatar
Joppu
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue 15 May 2007 5:37 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Postby Joppu » Sat 28 Jun 2008 8:55 am

Could it break compatiblity with old mods? I doubt that. Otherwise i see why not. :)

User avatar
BaronOfStuff
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu 25 Oct 2007 11:40 am
Location: Over the horizon somewhere in England
Contact:

Postby BaronOfStuff » Sat 28 Jun 2008 11:22 am

I doubt that renaming the .exe would screw with old mods.

Anyways, I'm all for the name change, seeing as the 'gl' isn't really necessary anymore - the software version hasn't been around since 1.29, and that was more than 2 years ago.
"Yar!" said the cow, who had been watching from afar...



Followed by "Allow that proverbial shit..."

pilottobombadier
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri 20 Jul 2007 10:16 pm

Postby pilottobombadier » Sat 28 Jun 2008 2:12 pm

Why not drop the "32", and rename it to edge.exe? It's kind of redundant, too, isn't it?
?lleps cigam a, 4f tla hsup

User avatar
andrewj
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007 11:22 am
Location: Tasmania

Postby andrewj » Sat 28 Jun 2008 5:39 pm

Drop the 32? Now that's just crazy talk.... :P :lol:

User avatar
Liberation
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon 14 May 2007 4:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Liberation » Sat 28 Jun 2008 7:09 pm

I dont see a problem with it, only time will tell i guess.

User avatar
Corbin
Posts: 657
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2007 6:10 am
Location: vice city, california
Contact:

Postby Corbin » Sat 28 Jun 2008 10:11 pm

I still think Software should come back. Strong advocate of giving people choices and it would work so much better on the Dreamcast.

User avatar
Visplane Overflow
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue 15 May 2007 11:01 pm
Location: We can't stop here, this is maple syrup country.

Postby Visplane Overflow » Sat 28 Jun 2008 11:05 pm

I think that bringing back the software rendering would really be too much work - considering how many people it would help (which is, to the best of my reckoning, one person =p). It's more effort than it's worth. Almost everyone has a graphics setup that can run EDGE, we can't be alienating a very large market.

User avatar
Dartmerc
Posts: 570
Joined: Tue 21 Aug 2007 3:25 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Postby Dartmerc » Sun 29 Jun 2008 1:01 am

lol, for april fools we should all post threads requesting an EDGE software version, I'm not sure Andrew would visit here again after that.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests